Select Page
Jātaka pārijata – śloka 9

Jātaka pārijata – śloka 9

अथ मीनादीनां स्वरूपवर्णनम्।
atha mīnādīnāṁ svarūpavarṇanam |

व्यत्यस्तोभयपुच्चमस्तकयुतौ मीनौ सकुंभो नर –
स्तौली चापधरस्तुरंगजघनो नक्रो मृगास्यो भवेत्।
वीणाढ्यं सगदं नृयुग्ममबला नौस्था ससस्यानला
शेषाः स्वस्व गुणाभिधानसद्दशाः सर्वे स्वदेशास्चयाः॥ ९॥vyatyastobhayapuccamastakayutau mīnau sakuṁbho nara –
staulī cāpadharasturaṁgajaghano nakro mṛgāsyo bhavet |
vīṇāḍhyaṁ sagadaṁ nṛyugmamabalā nausthā sasasyānalā
śeṣāḥ svasvaguṇābhidhānasaddaśāḥ sarve svadeśāscayāḥ || 9 ||

Translation: Sign Pisces is depicted as two fishes, moving in the opposite direction, with joined heads and tails. Aquarius is a man with the pot. Libra is a man with the balance. Sagittarius is a half armed man, and the other half is of the horse. Capricorn is a crocodile with the face of a deer. Gemini is described as a couple, where female is caring a vīṇā, and a male is caring mace. Virgo is a lady standing in the boat, having corn in one hand and the fire in the other. Remaining signs are described by their names. All of them are inhabits the regions appropriate to them.

Commentary: Symbols are not the creations of the mind, but rather are distinct capacities within the mind to hold a distinct piece of information. Thousands of yogas, as well as multiple informations about the world and time, can be stored in the human mind provided we master this language of symbols used by ṛṣi (Rath, Kāraka Review, 2007). Pandit Sanjay Rath said that word symbol we can use as Karaka, a doer. So, symbol of the sign will show us the traits of the sign. For example, Aries is symbolised by Ram, which will show the ability to push thing ahead, to go forward; on the other side, it can show very stubborn person, the one who don’t give up easily. 

Symbol of the rāśi is important for the study of Astrology because they are not picked randomly. For example, sign Pisces is described as two fishes eating each other’s tails. So, they are going in cycles, and they will show natural twelve house, which is house of emancipation, liberty from one side (so, going above the circles of saṁsāra) and from the other side it will represent the bondage, imprisonment and closed institution. Also, same sign can tell us a lot of information related to flows that every sign has. Fish can not stay alive on the direct Sun, so there is a problem with Agni (fire) tattva. Like this each sign and its symbol holds a wealth of information about that sign.

If you want to learn about the signs, the meaning of each symbol and more, consider rama-edu.com lectures done by Visti Larsen. He has dedicated 12 lectures teaching 12 sun signs covering different aspect of each sign.

If you have missed the previous śloka, śloka 8, you can read it here.

Jātaka pārijata – śloka 8

Jātaka pārijata – śloka 8

कालात्मकस्य च शिरोमुखदेशवक्षोहृत्कृक्षिभागकटिबस्तिरहस्यदेशाः।
उरू च जानुयुगलं परतस्तु जङ्गे पादद्वयं क्रियमुखावयवाः क्रमेण॥ ८॥

kālātmakasya ca śiromukhadeśavakṣohṛtkṛkṣibhāgakaṭibastirahasyadeśāḥ |urū ca jānuyugalaṁ paratastu jaṅge pādadvayaṁ kriyamukhāvayavāḥ krameṇa || 8||

Translation: The parts of the body of the person Kala (kāla) beginning with Aries, are respectively the head, the mouth, the breast, the heart, the belly, the hip, the groins, the private part, the two thighs, the two knees, the two calves and the two feet.

Commentary: The term Kalapuruṣa here stands for Time-personified or Time itself presented as a human being; Kala indicating time and Puruṣa indicating the concept of the male energy. This concept is coming from the unity of creation wherein Puruṣa and Prakṛti are the two main forces, male and female energy of the nature, which are cause of the all creation just like mother and father are needed together to create a new life. This male energy is thereafter assigned to Sun (being a father, giver of the life, providing Agni or fire for ignition) who is also governing signs in horoscope and the Moon (being the mother, sustainers, providing necessary nurturing and feeding for sustenance) who is governing over nakṣatras. All created world is product of these yoga’s of the Sun and Moon on the sky which are formed at certain point in time decided by the movement of these luminaries. This yoga’s are being studied in Vedic astrology as Pañcāñga or the five limbs of time i.e. Vara, Tithi, Nakṣatra, Karana and Yoga.

In the śloka number 7, the author is mapping Signs and the nakṣatras in the Kalapuruṣa chart. Kalapuruṣa chart is a special chart in which all twelve signs are indicating different parts of the body of Lord Viṣṇu, Janardana, starting with Aries as a first sign, representing the head, whilst other signs are following in regular order indicating the other body parts assigned to other signs. This is therefore also a generic chart for all human beings wherein in any chart despite person’slagna, Aries is still indicating head, Taurus mouth, etc.

Signs and Body parts

Herein are described the limbs and their allotment to the twelve signs. This is also applicable to the twelve houses from the ascendant. It may be pertinent to ask why the author has not mentioned the arms anywhere, and therefore hereunder is given an image for easy memorization of the signs and limbs.

Gemini has been attributed to the chest and upper torso. This also includes the arms as can be seen in the illustration. Notably the sign Scorpio indicates the genitals, but specifically covers the entire hidden portion from the pelvis to the anus. Therefore the image is slightly misleading as Sagittarius covers the entire thigh portion until the knees begin.

Libra covers the visible portion from the lower abdomen to the pelvis. Due to this some allot the visible genital area to the sign Libra.

The distribution of body parts is different when dealing with Praśna or horary charts, thus further confirming the focus on natal horoscopy.

This knowledge is further essential in studying medical Jyotiṣa wherein disease related planets and planetary yoga’s afflicting certain sign and/or house are likely to impose their effects on that part of the body. For example, afflictions on sign Capricorn are likely to give health problems with knees, Aquarius ankles, Leo stomach, etc. On the other side, we can go a step ahead and note that these signs also have very specific indications when it comes to health, for example, Aquarius is known to be hridayaroga or the one which indicates heart diseases, being the 8th sign from the Cancer (8th placement indicates the disease) or the sign which represents heart. In the same way, all the other signs/houses are carrying potentiality to afflict or improve certain parts of the human body. Whilst in case of houses it is important to take into account the Drekkana of the house to define the affected body part (Parashara, 1999).