This is a part of the article series on the topic of the Bhava classification, and it is an excerpt from the third chapter named Bhava: The houses of Visti Larsen’s book Jyotisha Fundamentals – My Master’s words (this book is now available as E-book on all Amazon platforms).

The fifth house from any house is its shelter or ashraya i.e. the fifth house from Lagna shows the shelter of the native and indicates the children or followers who will take on and continue the native’s goals and ideals in life.

As the fourth house shows one’s home, the shelter of the same becomes very important. The shelter of the fourth house is the eighth, being the fifth from the fourth. Hence, the fourth and eighth houses become caturashraya in the chart.

Houses Name
Fourth and eighth Caturashraya
Houses of Protection

This is why Jataka Bharanam states that the Sun’s placement in the eighth house in Sagittarius can give landed property. This will make Taurus the Lagna and Sun the fourth lord in a Jupitarian sign. However, this is so, if Jupiter is well placed from the Lagna lord Venus, otherwise, it will not act as a caturashraya and instead act as a dusthtana.

An important principle is derived from this statement. The sixth house is both a dusthana and an upachaya. It will work as an upachaya if the sixth lord is friendly towards the Lagna lord, otherwise, it will prove to be a dusthtana lord. Similarly, the eighth lord will act as a dusthtana lord unless it is friendly towards the Lagna lord.

– om tat sat –

Spread the love

Preuzmite besplatno poglavlje!

Preuzmite poglavlje knjige tako što ćete uneti Vaše podatke u naznačena polja. 

Truths about the sun signs

Grab a sample!

Subscribe to receive a free sample chapter of the Book!