Select Page
Comparing 3 types of Vimshottari Dashas

Comparing 3 types of Vimshottari Dashas

Comparing 3 types of Vimshottari Dashas is Part 2. of a presentation done by Visti Larsen, with his gracious host, Anuradha Sharda. If you have missed Part 1., we recommend that you start with that. You can find How to read Dasha Sandhi here.

Daśā is the study of time and thus also our search for Mahakāla. This Mahakāla is the origin of time and existed before time began.

When did our time begin? Does it end, and when?

When is a good time or a bad time?

All these are the study of daśā.

For the handout of the slides, please follow the link srigaruda.com/sandhi

Spread the love
Predict with transits by Visti Larsen

Predict with transits by Visti Larsen

Predict with transits is part 1. of a four-part audio lecture performed by Visti Larsen covering the topic of the most important planetary transits, and their significance as taught in the Vedic tradition.

This lecture starts with the basics, what are the transits? Transits are the planetary movements and Visti compares them to world dashas (periods) and sub-dashas (sub-periods). Those planetary positions show the circumstance of the world that can affect individuals. In this, the slow-moving planets, namely Saturn, Jupiter and the nodes(Rahu and Ketu), can be seen as a maha dashas (main periods). Whilst the fast-moving planets can be seen as a antardasha (sub-periods) being that they should be judged under the scope of the maha dasha (main period).

How do the planetary transits influence us? The first part is understanding negation vs. reinforcement of the events. Negation being the effect of  Saturn’s transit, and generally the transit of slow-moving malefics (Saturn and the nodes), whilst reinforcement being the effect of the Jupiter’s transit. For example, Saturn’s transit highlights our sins and weaknesses in those areas of life that he is transiting over or aspecting. This is the root cause of the two most well-known transits of Saturn, namely Sade Sati and Kantak Shani.

  1. Sade Sati is a 7,5 year period in one’s life occurring at the time of Saturn’s transit over the natives Moon sign as well as 12th and 2nd from it. This transit is generally a feared period even thou it is not always negative nor is it of the same quality all throughout this given period. Saturn transiting over the 12th from the Moons sign can affect one’s relationships and family; over the Moons sign itself, ones health and in 2nd house ones carrier and finances. Notably, Visti points out that the negative connotations of this transit do not show themselves viz-a-viz the Moon’s position in the Rāśi (D-1) chart, but instead that of its Navāmśa (D-9) position.
  2. Kantak Shani, popularly known as a thorn in the leg (kantaka means a thorn), is Saturns transit over 10th house or Saturns aspect on the 10th house (here we talk about the graha-dṛṣṭi or planetary aspects). This period can hamper one’s karma yoga. As there are different aspects to karma yoga so are the different focal points to judge this transit from. Therefore, Saturns aspect on the 10th from the Lagna can show ones mistakes or weaknesses in decision-making with regards to work/karma; 10th house from the Arudha Lagna can show a negative trend in the society that can influence your karma yoga, and 10th house from the Moon can indicate lack of motivation and drive when interacting with others for the purpose of karma yoga.

You can read more about Kantak Shani here.

How do we judge these transits and their influcences on us? Well, a very good starting point is to see these main transits with regards to the self indicators, namely Lagna and the Moon. Of which, Moon and its extension – Arudha Lagna, are really our connection to the society and world. This is why Moon and the arudhas are very important in the transits.

Visti’s subsequent lectures will cover the effects of eclipses and other planetary transits. To stay updated, consider subscribing to Visti’s YouTube channel.

Spread the love
Jyotish News | What is New in Vedic Astrology

Jyotish News | What is New in Vedic Astrology

This weekly post is dedicated to the News where I hope to share and inform on the newest in the world of Jyotish. This time it is the very best of the news in the form of the new online lectures done by my Guruji, Pt. Sanjay Rath.

The topic is that of Pañcānga. Pañcānga is a Sanskrit word that means five parts or five limbs of time (pancha=five and anga=limbs or parts), those being Vara, Tithi, Karana, Nakshatra, and Yoga. As taught in the Tradition, examining Pañcānga is the very first step in ones approach to chart. In fact, we were taught that a student of Jyotisha is supposed to keep a diary of the Pañcānga for the day. With that in mind, I took some time to make a printable Pañcānga template for your own use, being chart analysis or a personal Jyotish diary.

Panchanga Template – Five limbs of Time

But, back to the lecture. In the first video, Guruji is speaking on the topic of the Vara or weekday, and the subjects of health, children and the basics of Panchanga are touched upon.

If you have missed it, you can find the lecture here: Video 1. Sanjay Rath: Magic of your Birth Day, with Kapiel Raj.

The second lecture covers the topic of Tithi or lunar day. Herein, the link to one’s relationships, the spouse and the quality of marriage is spoken upon.

Video 2. Pt. Sanjay Rath: My Spouse and Marriage Secrets

If you like the topic and want to learn more, you can listen to the Pañcānga series lecture delivered by Visti Larsen here.

And last but not the least, BAVA announced the 2019 20th International Conference held in London, 19-24 April 2019, with the topic Love, Marriage, and Relationships. You can find all the details here.

– om that sat –

Spread the love