Select Page
Houses of the horoscope

Houses of the horoscope

Bhavas or houses are the seats of activity in Astrology. They divide life into various activities which the planets participate in. Houses are akin to the workshop for the planet to do its work in.

Instead of dealing with houses the usual way, wherein which we divide the houses into good and bad, we can take a slightly different approach to this topic. Let’s say, we divide all bhavas into (1) Sthana bhava, (2) Dhana bhava and (3) Dur bhava.

Sthana bhavas

Sthana bhavas cover the 1st, 4th, 7th and 10th houses, also known as Kendra houses. These four houses represent the four petal lotus of the Muladhara chakra that is the very root of one’s existence. There are better known as the four pillars of life. If these are stable, life is stable, and if one of them falls it causes a significant vacuum in life.

This can be visualized as a lotus in a pond. The four Kendra houses are the four lotus petals. Damage to one of the petals causes the lotus to tilt and drown. This is the very case with the Kendra houses. These houses and their lords should be strong!

Dhana bhavas

Dhana bhavas cover the 2nd, 5th, 9th, and 11th houses. These houses are the food of the lotus and hence the food of life. They are the means through which we receive all types of wealth, both knowledge-wealth and different asset-wealth. Knowledge is represented in the 5th and 9th houses, whilst the other assets and food are seen from the 2nd and 11th houses. These houses and their respective strengths are indicators as to how well we are in receiving and holding on to these different aspects of wealth.

Dur bhavas

Dur houses are 3rd, 6th, 8th, and 12th house, and they are the cause of different types of losses and misfortunes. They are the unstable waters around the lotus which one needs to be guarded against. As the lotus inhales prana through the Kendra and Dhana houses, providing prana to the native, the exhale of prana happens to be in the Dur houses. Hence the Dur houses represent that what is leaving your body and ultimately does not benefit you, but may benefit someone else.

Do you want to know how different planets behave in these houses? Consider reading my article on How to judge planets in houses here.

Stay tuned for the next installment on the planets.

Jyotish News | What is New in Vedic Astrology

Jyotish News | What is New in Vedic Astrology

Dear Friends,
We have welcomed the New Year with an abundance of new video/audio and written materials, covering different Jyotish topics. For those hungry and thirsty for this divine knowledge, this is the golden era (and yes, all thanks to technology)!!

If you have missed some of it, here is the link to one of the lectures delivered by Visti Larsen, with his gracious host Vanita Lenka. The lecture was on the topic of Ketu, and how to read Ketu in one’s horoscope.

KETU THE LIBERATOR | Visti Larsen with Vanita Lenka

During his presentation, Visti gives an in-depth answers to the following questions

  1. Which signs does Ketu lord if any?
  2. What is Ketu karaka/significator of?
  3. Can Ketu suffer afflictions, and if so, what are the indications?
  4. What is Ketu Chakra and how to predict with it? And much more…

To establish the classroom/learning atmosphere, I took some time to create a worksheet with questions on topics covered during this presentation. You can download your worksheet down below, listen to the lecture at your own pace, and then try to answer all the questions. If you can do this in hand then even better, as that written by hand is half learned (and, I am sure that you know the story of Ganesha, yes/no?).

Worksheet: How to read Ketu in a horoscope

This practice will deepen your understanding and can clarify your areas of confusion, if any.

Enjoy and hope you will benefit from this, 

p.s. The webinar has several parts!
p.p.s. If you don’t want to miss out on the newest events, consider subscribing here, or on Visti’s website www.srigaruda.com.

Happy Makara Sankranti!!

Happy Makara Sankranti!!

Makara Sankranti: meaning and importance

Makara Sankranti is the time of the Sun entering Makara, or the sign Capricorn, and marks the beginning of the Deva-Ayana.

The month of Capricorn is celebrated in India as the New Year and this year it will be celebrated on January 15, 2019. From a Jyotisha point of view, the event of Makara Saṅkrānti is celebrated as the beginning of the year of the Devas.