What you take in through your senses becomes the content of your mind.” Pravrajika Divyanandaprana

Sage Parashara teaches: "The Sun is the Soul of all, the Moon is the Mind…"

The Moon represents one’s mind in the horoscope. While the Sun is a reflection of the Self (Atma), the Moon reflects the light of the Sun. Just as the Moon does not have a light of its own (other than the reflective light from the Sun), so also the mind gets all its inputs from (1) the self and (2) its surroundings.

Knowing that the very nature of the Moon is to reflect, our minds naturally collect information from the outside world. This happens through our senses (and sense organs), where this input later determines our thoughts and emotions, which turn into our habits and beliefs.

Therefore, the quality of the Moon in the individual horoscope will decide how we sort all the informational (and emotional) input. It is the mind that gathers the information and stores that which it deems important.

Negative or toxic thoughts aka Shadripu

When understanding emotional intelligence, it is essential to note that negative emotions come from toxic thoughts.

In Jyotish we call these Shadripu, meaning six (shad) weaknesses (ripu) or six mind enemies. These are Kama (lust), krodha (anger), lobha (greed), mada (arrogance), moha (delusion), and matsarya (jealousy).

Various Jyotish classics assign shadripu to the 6th house. Therefore, we can say that these negative thoughts cause our suffering, enmities, addictions, and even self-caused health issues (termed Āgantuka-Roga).

Planets representing various thoughts, emotions, and subsequent actions

We like to assign the way we feel to an outside source or circumstance. And yet, the way we feel is a product of what we think (consciously or subconsciously).

For example, a negative Mars influence can bring anger, violence, vengefulness, or hatred. Still, the thought that was a root cause is insecurity, being or feeling under the attack or unprotected, and it is the thought that causes emotion and subsequent action. Mars is the guard and the strength of the Kalapurusha, and he is reactive, protective, and aggressive.

Similarly, we can assign various thoughts and resulting emotions to each navagraha.

Understanding shame

Here is another example. Which planet indicates shame?

These are some definitions of shame.

“Shame derives its power from being unspeakable. Shame grows in hiding. The less you want to talk about it, the more you have it. Shame hates having words wrapped around it.” Shame researcher Brené Brown

  • Suppose we know that shame grows in shadows.
  • Shame makes us hide some aspect of ourselves that we believe is not worthy or socially acceptable.
  • Shame makes us present ourselves as different from who we are, fearing rejection or ridicule (or, in other words, we put masks on).

The likely conclusion is that the graha indicating shame is Rahu, a shadowy Graha. Karaka for scandal, living outside of the social boundaries, being foreign, living in the shadow, etc. The thought of not belonging or not being accepted due to our ethnicity, religion, cultural norm, sexual orientation, or similar (Rahu shows those who live outside the border) causes this negative emotion called shame.

It is worth remembering that shame is in our minds. What we feel ashamed of is very personal and depends on our own culture, society norms, family expectations, etc. And those who feel shame have the power to take charge of it. Brown says that “Empathy and bringing shame to light is the antidote for shame.”

“Take care of your thoughts, you are what your thoughts have made you.” Swami Vivekananda

How various planets shape our mind

Similarly, we can shed light on all thoughts and consequent emotions through learning about each planet and its nature.

From the Chandra chakra, we get to see our emotional response to different areas of life, our moods, and social interactions when it comes to various aspects of life. However, planets that are causing the most pressure on our minds, self-perception, and mental peace are planets conjoined Moon.

The 1st house from the Moon will show our self-view, our desires and even indicate our self-torment based on our social interactions (or society telling us how to think and feel)!! For that reason, we prefer seeing the Moon alone in the horoscope. This is preferred for both natal charts as well as muhurta charts. 

Any planet conjoining the Moon will indicate external factors making impressions (through thoughts and emotions), or torment upon our mind. For the peace of our mind, the Moon should ideally be alone. Even the great Jupiter will demand and pressure the Moon/mind to think and feel a certain way that is not its nature.

Based on this, we can conclude that tamas planets conjoining Moon are most undesirable:

1. Saturn conjoining Moon will indicate sorrow, detachment, pessimistic thoughts, depression, melancholy, lack, etc.
2. Mars will indicate anger, heighten emotions, blame game, and reactive thoughts.
3. Rahu and Ketu, when together with the Moon, cause eclipse situations and frictions inside the mind.


There is a remedy for everything under the Sun, including negative feelings. 

Regardless of the source of teaching, being Vedanta, a life coach, a mental health practitioner, or Jyotisha, the advice points to the same: Learn about yourself

  • Therapists would advise you to feel all of your feelings and get comfortable with your negative emotions. Learn to understand yourself. 
  • Vedanta says, take charge of your life. Nothing is outside of you. The source of everything is in you. 
  • Jyotisha would read the karmic combinations from your horoscope, offer you an understanding of the reasons behind anything, and advise remedies accordingly. 

There is a remedy for everything under the Sun, and knowing yourself and taking your power back is where all roads point out. 

Apart from getting hold of our minds to intentionally choose beneficial thoughts and, consequently, producing positive feelings, I wish to add the following.

As per Vedanta teachings, the components of emotional intelligence are:

  1. Social skills,
  2. Self-awareness,
  3. Self-regulation,
  4. Motivation, and
  5. Empathy.  

For further study, check out my book Letters to my Jyotish friends, the chapter on Mental health.

Spread the love

Preuzmite besplatno poglavlje!

Preuzmite poglavlje knjige tako što ćete uneti Vaše podatke u naznačena polja. 

Truths about the sun signs

Grab a sample!

Subscribe to receive a free sample chapter of the Book!